Promoting Excellence in the Discourse on Europe. Since 1995, the Erasmus EuroMedia Awards are granted to outstanding media productions contributing to the development of a European society and value system. [learn more]

Jury & Criteria

Members of the Grand Jury

Miguel Aguilera, Spain
Director of Communication and Information
University of Malaga

Thomas A. Bauer, Austria
President of the Jury, Professor
University of Vienna

Marlies Bitter, The Netherlands
Open University, Heerlen

Dimitris Charalambis, Greece
Department of Communications and Mass Media
National and Capodistrian University of Athens

Péter Csizmár, Hungary
Empirica, Sopron

Mike Dawney, Great Britain
Middlesex University, London

Christos Giannoulis,Cyprus
E-RCI, Limmasol

Joan Hemels, The Netherlands
Emeritus Faculty Member
University of Amsterdam

Marko Ivanisin, Slovenia
Assistant Professor Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

University of Maribor

Magdalena A. Kalaidjieva, Bulgaria
Associate Professor Institute of Control and System Research
Bulgarian Academy of Science, Sofia

Ceyhan Kandemir, Turkey
Head of Department Broadcasting and Cinema
Istanbul University

Barbara Köpplova, Czech Republic
Head of Department Media Studies
Charles University, Prague

Bernd Mikuszeit, Germany
Director IB&M
Institute for Education and Media, Berlin

Gerhard E. Ortner, Germany
Professor, Executive Board GPI
Gesellschaft für Pädagogik und Information, Berlin



Evaluation Criteria

All submissions for the EuroMedia Awards are evaluated according to specific
quality criteria. ESEC experts will weigh the following aspects in their decisions
for the respective decorations:

  • the level of discussion of European topics
  • the depth of analysis and critical assessment / reassessment
  • the quality of realization in terms of design, aesthetics and media language
  • the value for use in educational contexts